The mission of the Town of Cortland is to provide for its citizens those essential services and amenities which will benefit all residents and property owners.  These shall be services and amenities of high quality which the citizens cannot easily or economically provide for themselves and shall include:  potable water, sewerage collection, storm water collection and control, passable streets, usable parks, reasonably safe environment, and regulation of land use and building activity within the municipal boundary.

- - - - - -


The Town operates under a trustee form of government. This includes the Mayor, Clerk and six Trustees who are all elected at-large for four year terms.  At-large means Trustees do not represent a specific area of the Town, but represent the interests of all residents.  The Treasurer and Chief of Police are appointed annually by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Town Board.